Skip to main content


Bowling is a competitive sport in which a player rolls a bowling ball down a wooden or synthetic lane with the objective of scoring points by knocking down as many pins as possible.


Although Bowling does not belong to the Olympic sports, it is among the most popular sports in Special Olympics. It is a particularly beneficial sport to people with intellectual disabilities, irrespective of their age or sports abilities, since it ensures physical exercise and at the same time participation and social integration.


The traditional bowling competition is offered in the spring while unified bowling has its own competition offered in the fall. To learn more about the Unified Bowling competition, click here.




Bowling season begins in November and will practice 8 weeks leading up to regional competition. Bowling ends at Spring Games in April.

Individual (1 person competes)

  • Singles
  • Ramp
  •  Assisted Ramp

Doubles (2 people compete together)

Teams (4 people compete together)



Currently, Bowling is offered the following communities:



  • Bellevue
  • Blair
  • Cass County
  • Elkhorn
  • Fremont
  • Millard
  • Omaha
  • Papillion/LaVista
  • Ralston
  • South Sioux City
  • West Omaha
  • West Point

East Central

  • Beatrice
  • Central City
  • Columbus
  • David City
  • Falls City
  • Filmore
  • Lincoln
  • Nebraska City
  • Norfolk
  • Seward
  • Wahoo
  • Waverly
  • York


  • Alliance
  • Chadron
  • Ogallala
  • Scottsbluff
  • Sidney

West Central

  • Boyd County
  • Broken Bow
  • Cambridge
  • Grand Island
  • Hastings
  • Heartland Boyd County
  • Hitchcock County
  • Kearney
  • Lexington
  • McCook
  • Minden
  • North Platte
  • O’Neill
  • Ravenna


Don't see your community listed above? Email us to learn more about how to get Bowling started in your area!