Skip to main content

Nebraska LETR Executive Council


“My involvement the Law Enforcement Torch Run over the past 25 years has taught me a lot about acceptance and inclusion of all people. It has made me a better cop, a better parent and a better person.”

- Captain Jeri Roeder, Lincoln Police Department 

The Law Enforcement Torch Run for Special Olympics Nebraska Executive Council is an important body that provides guidance, resources, and oversight to the overall Law Enforcement Torch Run movement.  It is vital that qualified individuals from Law Enforcement who are involved with our program are involved at this level.

The purpose of the Executive Council is to:

  • Govern the state LETR program
  • Make purposeful decisions
  • Empower law enforcement
  • Brainstorm ideas and policies
  • Work hand-in-hand with Special Olympics Nebraska
  • Make sure the LETR program is furthering the mission of Special Olympics Nebraska


Nebraska Law Enforcement Torch Run Executive Council Members


Sgt. Jeff Boston, Nebraska State Patrol

Cpt. Jeri Roeder, Lincoln Police Department
Athlete Representative
John Sherbert, Minden

Law Enforcement Torch Run Liaison
Katie Kellar, Special Olympics Nebraska

West Region Director
Cpt. Jason Rogers, Gering Police Department

West Central Regional Director
Jackie Thelen, Nebraska Department of Correctional Services

Nathan Veal, Nebraska State Patrol

Central Regional Director
Officer Seth Van Horn, Kearney Police Department

East Central Regional Directors
Officer Derrick Hosick, Beatrice Police Department

Officer Natasha Nesbitt, Beatrice Police Department

East Regional Director
Sgt. Marcus Taylor, Omaha Police Department