A A A
 

Events

Law Enforcement Torch Run Events

The Law Enforcement Torch Run is held annually throughout the state of Nebraska leading up to the Summer Games. The 2019 events run May 8-23.

Listed below are the details for the upcoming community Torch Run events across the state. If you are interested in taking part in one of these events, please reach out to the designated contact person. 

Click on the links to download the Runner Waiver form and T-Shirt Order form. 

 


The list of Torch Run Events will be updated as information on community runs comes in (last updated:5/8/2019). For Torch Run questions, contact Katie Kellar at kkellar@sone.org.

2019 Torch Run Events 

Date: May 8th, 8:00 a.m.
Location: AURORA
Event: Run begins at the Hamilton County Sheriff’s Office, 715 12th St, and goes through the entire
County. Runners can choose how many of the miles they want to run. Contact person: Kirk Handrup,  
countysheriff@hamilton.net

Date: May 15th, 12:00 p.m.
Location: LINCOLN
Event: Run begins at noon followed by a ceremony and lunch beginning at 12:30 pm on the east steps 
of the Hall of Justice. A taco bar from Taco Inn, courtesy of Westgate Bank
Contact person: Char Estes,  lpd596@CJIS.LINCOLN.NE.GOV


Date: May 16th, 5:00 p.m.
Location: GRAND ISLAND
Event: Run will start at the Grand Island Police Department at 5:00 p.m. and end at the Elks Club, 
631
S Locust.  There will be a dance with local Special Olympics Nebraska athletes at the Elks Club. 
Contact Person: Michelle Anderson,  manderson@gipolice.org

Date: May 17th, 6:30 a.m.
Location: NEBRASKA STATE PATROL TRAINING ACADEMY (GRAND ISLAND)
Event: The Torch Run will be held just for the current Nebraska State Patrol Recruits.


Date: May 18th, 9:30 a.m.
Location: YORK
Event: Runners will meet at East Hill park at 9:30 a.m. for a 5K. Water and snacks will be 
provided, and all walkers, joggers and runners are welcome.
Contact Person: Erika Garcia,  Erika.Garcia@nebraska.gov


Date: May 19th, 6:00 p.m.
Location: MCCOOK
Event: Run will start and end at Crossfit McCook. The run will be about 1 mile. Contact Person: 
Jackie Thelen,  Jackie.Thelen@nebraska.gov

May 20th,
Location: CHADRON
Event: The run will start at State Park and run, in segments, to the Court House in Chadron. 
Contact Person: Tim Flick,  flick382@yahoo.com


May 20th, 4:00 p.m.
Location: NORTH PLATTE
Event: Start at the Maxwell School parking lot at 4:00 p.m. and run along HWY 30 to Cody Park
(arriving around 6:30 p.m.) for picnic with local Special Olympics Nebraska athletes.
Contact Person: Nathan Veal,  Nathan.Veal@nebraska.gov

Date: May 20th, 5:00 p.m.
Location: MINDEN
Event: Run starts at Mason’s Market and ends at the Courthouse with a cookout (free-will donations 
accepted)
Contact Person: Trooper Todd Suchsland,  Todd.Suchsland@nebraska.gov

Date: May 20th, 5:00 p.m.
Location: KEARNEY
Event:
Contact Person: Rob Taillon,  RTaillon@kearneygov.org

Date: May 20th, 5:30 p.m.
Location: SCOTTSBLUFF/GERING
Event: Run will being at 5:30 p.m. at the Scotts Bluff National Monument parking lot end at Legion
Park in Gering
Contact person: Jason Rogers,  JRogers@gering.org or Chris Baer,  Christopher.Baer@nebraska.gov


Date: May 21st, 12:30 p.m.
Location: COLUMBUS
Event: Runner will meet at the Columbus Police Department, 2419 14th Street, at 12:30 p.m.  The run
will south on 26th Avenue into Pawnee Park and end at the pond in East Pawnee Park to join in on 
the
fishing event that will be held for children with special needs. The runners will arrive at the 
park at
1:00 p.m. and the fishing event will last approximately 1.5 hours. Contact Person: Jeremy Zywiec,  
jeremy.zywiec@columbusne.us

Date: May 21th, 6:00 p.m.
Location: BEATRICE
Event: Run begins at 19th & HWY 136 (Court Street) and ends at 5th Street & HWY 136.
Contact person: Derrick Hosick,  dhosick@beatrice.ne.gov

Date: May 23rd. 7:00 p.m.
Location: OMAHA
Event: Omaha will host a Run/Walk. Runners/walkers will meet at meet at the Rasmussen Fitness and 
Sports Center on Creighton’s campus and end at the Ryan Athletic Center/D.J. Sokol Arena at 
Creighton. The run will be just over 3 miles. The walk will be 1.5 mile through Creighton's campus 
and kids under 12 walk for free. Runners/walkers may begin to pick up t-shirts from 6-6:30 p.m. You 
can register for the run and walk at  https://www.firstgiving.com/event/sone/Omaha-Torch-Run-2019.


After the Run: The Special Olympics Nebraska Opening Ceremonies will be held at the DJ Sokol 
auditorium at 7:00 p.m.  All runners are asked to please come and run the torch into Opening 
Ceremonies. It estimated that the torch will enter the auditorium around 8 p.m.
Contact person: Alan Reyes,  alan.reyes@cityofomaha.org
 

2019 Runner T-Shirt

2019 LETR Retail T-Shirt