A A A
 

Sports

Sporting Events

Summer Games Overview

Let the games begin! Special Olympics Nebraska is proud to host over 1,000 athletes who will put a year’s worth of hard work and dedication to the test as they compete for the bronze, silver and gold at the 2015 Summer Games!

The Special Olympics Nebraska Summer Games are the largest statewide individual event and are scheduled to take place between May 20-23 at Creighton University, Northwest High School and other venues in Omaha.

As part of the build-up for the Games, the annual Nebraska Law Enforcement Torch Run will take place May 15-21. The Torch Run involves officials from all levels of law enforcement who carry the “Flame of Hope” to the Summer Games for an inspirational entrance into Opening Ceremonies. For the entire week leading up the start of the Games, officers from throughout the state of Nebraska carry the flame, which traverses numerous Nebraska cities, towns and rural communities on its way to Omaha. Thousands gather along the Torch Run routes to show their support for Special Olympics Nebraska and local law enforcement.

Opening Ceremonies will be held at the DJ Sokol Arena at Creighton University on Thursday, May 21nd at 7:00pm. The celebration begins with the Parade of Athletes along with the Omaha Police Department Bag Pipes and Drums, a trampoline gymnastics display and live music from Lemon Fresh Day. We invite the public to join the celebration

Athletes will compete for victory in track and field, roller skating, aquatics, power lifting, volleyball and gymnastics.

In addition to competitive sporting events, Special Olympics Nebraska will be providing Healthy Athlete screenings for our athletes to include Opening Eyes (vision), Special Smiles (dentistry), Healthy Hearing (audiology), and Fit Feet (podiatry).

As an athlete-centered and volunteer driven organization, Special Olympics Nebraska relies on the support of community volunteers, families and fans to make the Games an ongoing success. The Summer Games would not happen without the help of over 700 dedicated volunteers working as scorekeepers, timers and escorts. 

If you are interested in volunteering at Summer Games, visit our Current Volunteer Opportunities

Click here to download a Summer Games Venue Map!


For any questions regarding Summer Games, contact the appropriate person:

Sports and Competition Inquiries
Dave Demyan - Sports Manager: ddemyan@sone.org
Rick Childree - Program Director: rchildree@sone.org

Healthy Athletes Inquiries
Alisa Hoffman - Special Programs Manager: ahoffman@sone.org

Athlete Housing Inquiries
Kay Drwal - Administrative Assistant: kdrwal@sone.org

Athlete Paperwork
Barb Dalby - Programs Assistant: bdalby@sone.org

Volunteer Information
Liz Bailey - Volunteer Manager: lbailey@sone.org