A A A
 

Events

Law Enforcement Torch Run Events

The Law Enforcement Torch Run is held annually throughout the state of Nebraska leading up to the Summer Games. This year's events run May 12-18, 2017.

Listed below are the details for the upcoming community  Torch Run events across the state. If you are interested in taking part in one of these events, please reach out to the designated contact person. 

Click on the links to download the Runner Waiver form and T-Shirt Order form. 


The list of Torch Run Events will be updated as information on community runs comes in (last update: 4/17/17). For Torch Run questions, contact Katie Kellar at kkellar@sone.org.

2017 Torch Run Events

Date: May 10th
Location: HAMILTON COUNTY
Contact person: Kirk Handrup, countysheriff@hamilton.net

Date: May 12th, 5:30p.m.
Location: GRAND ISLAND
Event: The run will start at St. Leo's Church and end at Stolley Park with yard games and food. 
Contact person: Michelle Anderson, manderson@gipolice.org

Date: May 13th, 10:00 a.m.
Location: MCCOOK
Contact person: Jackie Thelen, thelenjackie@yahoo.com

Date: May 13th
Location: SCOTTSBLUFF/GERING
Event: The run will start at the Scottsbluff Monument and end at Frank Park in Scottsbluff. 
Contact person: Jason Rogers, JRogers@gering.org or Chris Baer, Christopher.Baer@nebraska.gov 

Date: May 15th, 6:30 a.m.
Location: NEBRASKA STATE PATROL TRAINING ACADEMY

Date: May 15th, 5:00 p.m.
Location: MINDEN
Event: Run starts at Masons Market and ends at the Court House with a BBQ to follow. 
Contact Person: Todd Suchsland, Todd.Suchsland@nebraska.gov

Date: May 16th, 5:00 p.m.
Location: KEARNEY
Event:  Run starts at 39/A in the parking lot of Hellman, Main, Coslor and Kathol. The run will head south to 31st onto Central and then end in the Mona parking lot, with a BBQ meal.
Contact Person: Rob Taillon, RTaillon@kearneygov.org

Date: May 16th, 6:00 p.m.
Location: OGALLALA
Event:  Run starts at Lute Place on Highway 30 and will run into Ogallala to meet at Front Street.
Contact Person: Kelly Crymble, kcrymble@outlook.com

Date: May 16th
Location: BEATRICE
Contact person: Derrick Hosick, dhosick@beatrice.ne.gov

Date: May 16th, 4:00 p.m.
Location: NORTH PLATTE
Event: Start at the Maxwell School parking lot at 4:00 and run along HWY 30 to Cody Park for picnic with athletes. 
Contact Person: Robert Veal, Robert.Veal@nebraska.gov

Date: May 17th, 12:00 p.m.
Location: LINCOLN
Event: Run begins at 12 p.m. at 16th and W and ends with a ceremony on the east steps of the Hall of Justice (575 S 10th St).
Contact person: Char Estes, lpd596@CJIS.LINCOLN.NE.GOV

Date: May 17th, 12:00 p.m.
Location: CHADRON
Contact person: Tim Flick, Timothy.Flick@nebraska.gov

Date: May 17th, 12:00 p.m.
Location: YORK
Event: Run is held at York High School.
Contact person: Devin Davis, Devin.Davis@nebraska.gov

Date: May 17th, 4:30 p.m.
Location: COLUMBUS
Event: Run will begin at Hobby Lobby, pass through down town, and end at Frankfurt Square with hot dogs, chips and water. 
Contact person: Kevin Stary, Kevin.Stary@nebraska.gov

Date: May 17th
Location: SIDNEY
Contact Person: Keith Andrew, Keith.Andrew@sidneypd.org 

Date: May 18th, 6:00 p.m.
Location: OMAHA
Event: Runners will meet at meet at the Rasmussen Fitness and Sports Center on Creighton’s campus and end at the Ryan Athletic Center/D.J. Sokol Arena at Creighton The run will be just over 3 miles.  

After the Run: The Special Olympics Nebraska Opening Ceremonies will be held at the DJ Sokol auditorium at 7:00 p.m.  All runners are asked to please come and run the torch into Opening Ceremonies.  It estimated that we will run in around 7:45 p.m.
Contact person: Alan Reyes, alan.reyes@cityofomaha.org

2017 Runner T-Shirt

2017 LETR Retail T-Shirt